swinglasas.blogg.se

Seymore duncan woody single coil vs humbucker
Seymore duncan woody single coil vs humbucker












seymore duncan woody single coil vs humbucker

It has very much middle tones with a wide Q and it's a bit of a problem sometimes.īecuse it's a magnetic pickup it has no feedback problems with wedge monitors and it can be played through a regular Marshall with no problems and sounding pretty good. The problem is overwhelming middle section. The sound is brialliant and it has a decent amount of low end. The sound feels more like a electric guitar through a DI-box because it's a magnetic pickup, not a microphone. The woody pickup fits with natural finished acoustic guitar just perfect! I installed the pickup to my acoustic guitar permanently and therefore I have no "cable in the way" problem. The pickup is a bit disfunctional with it's long cable which is in the way when playing.

seymore duncan woody single coil vs humbucker

Seymore Duncan Woody SC SA-3SC is a visually pleasing option for getting an acoustic guitar a decent sound on stage with no feedback problems. On the whole this is heavily recommended for the honest working musician - I've used it for many gigs and I'd happily do so again. It is still a single coil so can feed back under gain but that's a very rare occurrence and to do so would be more likely user error than the pickup's fault. There is an impressive lack of noise too this is a very well made pickup. I've used it with dreadnought and jumbo guitars and it faithfully reproduced acoustic tonal qualities of both. The Duncan Woody outputs a very clear acoustic tone through the PA system or through an amplifier. There is also plenty of cable so on stage movement is easy and unencumbered. It clips into the sound hole with a clever mounting system that uses soft foam to hold the pickup in place - it stayed perfectly where I wanted it to every time it was used. It's not the cheapest or the most expensive so it is pitched somewhere in the middle, but it is reliable and simple. Now, there are pickups like the Hot Stack for Strat, and the Hot Rails which. Back in the day, the single coil-equipped guitar had to be boosted after the fact to get some serious crunch going on, and boosting the signal also boosted the hum. If I had to chose between the two, I would take the Seth over the 59 every time.but that's just me.The Seymour Duncan Woody is one of a huge range of acoustic pickups by many manufacturers, and it stands out in its field for two simple reasons: ease of use and sound quality. The other drawback to vintage single coils is the fact that they are lower in output than humbuckers. I know many players who use, love and would not consider changing out the 59 in the neck of their tele's.

seymore duncan woody single coil vs humbucker

It may boil down to the wood, a specific guitar and/or what the player's ears like to hear. I've also used Seth Lovers in similar instruments and really liked them. I've used 59's in a few semi's and a sweet LP copy before and really liked them. It responds to picking dynamics and the guitars vol/tone controls unlike any bucker (Zhangbuckers Pure Handwound was close!) I've used. For me, it's the best sounding (and feeling) humbucker I've used in this tele. I now have a Lollar Low wind Imperial in the neck slot. I've also had great results with Antiquities, Jazz and a few older Dimarzio PAF's. The 59 I tried sounded good, but nowhere near the tone or dynamic response of the seth. In my chambered mahogany body tele, the Seth Lover was darn near perfect. I have three extras around, all of the "59NJ" variety (the "J" for the winder, Maricela Juarez) with roughcast A2's already swapped into them. In addition to "softer," other descriptive terms for the A2 sound might be "rounder" or "smoother." The A5's will produce more biting, in your face highs and lows.

seymore duncan woody single coil vs humbucker

I have never had a feedback problem with the Seth's, but I do not play real high gain.Ī word on Antigua's description of"softer highs and lows." To be clear, IMO, this is not in reference to volume, but in the "edge" of the note. I have a number of boutique humbucker sets, but, quite honestly, I could live with a set of '59's with roughcast A2 mags. The '59 is often dissed as a neck pickup with complaints of "too muddy," but I think that is a by-product of the A5 mags. I prefer A2 magnets and have put them in multiple sets of '59's. Most of the major differences have been covered. Click to expand.I own both, but, like Antigua Tele, in different guitars.














Seymore duncan woody single coil vs humbucker